I Can Hear You

telepathy1

“I Can Hear You.” by Copper D.W

“I find it interesting, you know?” I looked at Ally and she just shook her head.

“Well, it almost seems that I know what you know and what I know you don’t…”

Ally just shook her head again and signed I still don’t understand.

I sighed. I knew I had to explain more, but I hated talking, and I hadn’t yet mastered American sign Language. Most people thought I couldn’t speak either.

“Ok, Ally it’s just like… sometimes I know what you’re thinking” She gave me a confused face. Like by reading body language? She signed to me. “No… umm, not really. It’s kind of like… I can read your thoughts…” Ally just looked at me blankly. “You know I hate it when you do that.” Ok, then what am I thinking now?

“I can’t just turn it on and off like that,” I tried to explain, “it’s kind of like when there is something important to say, I just know what you’re thinking.”

Do you realize that my facial expressions are more dynamic because I can’t talk right? “I know,” I said. “Ok, umm remember the yesterday? We were at a party?”

Yes, I remember, I was there, it was yesterday and that is the sole reason why we are stuck here right now. “Yeah… well, I was in the washroom and I heard you yell.”

Yell? Umm, Gerami I’m pretty sure you’re aware of this, but just to point it out but I don’t talk let alone yell. “I know, umm, it’s kind of complicated to explain.”

Well, we have time Ally signed gesturing to the room we were locked in. “Yeah, sorry about that” I muttered.

There was a moment of awkward silence and I started to look at my bruised hands only to realize that Ally was signing me again. “Oh sorry,” I said as I looked to see what she was signing. How did you know I was yelling? She signed. Well at least yelling in my mind? “I don’t know… it’s weird isn’t it?”

She stopped to collect her thoughts. Well, at least you intervened at the right time, even though you still had toilet paper in your pants. She laughed her cute silent laugh. “Ha Ha, I know, and even the stupid drunk dude pointed it out” Ally just looked up at me and smiled. Can you hear anyone else? she asked. “No just you, it’s kind of funny.”

She smiled. Well, I’m glad you could hear me kick that weirdo off of me. Thank you, she signed again. I smiled “It’s cool, you would have done the same.”

Looking around she got up and edged closer to me being a good foot from my face. This was normal, at least for me, she would do this to everyone, especially when she was little, and she would study their faces. I remember that everyone thought she was trying to kiss them, but she just wanted to see their faces clearly. She normally would just look at my face, examine whatever she does here and there. She stepped back and started to laugh again.

“What?” I said somewhat concerned. She started laughing harder “What?” I said again this time more agitated. She kept lauding for a solid 30 seconds and then finally composed herself enough to sign.

I already know! I just looked at her confused “you know what?” She was finally composed enough to sign a full sentence to me.

I can read your thoughts too, bucko! I’ve been reading your thoughts since we met! I just sat there shocked.

“Ok stop joking that isn’t nice.” No, I’m serious, think of something and I’ll tell you. “Umm ok.” I started to try to think of something really hard, something that she wouldn’t know but I kept thinking about how hungry I was and thinking about Ally’s mom’s pizza.

Pizza, my mom’s in particular. She smiled.

“Ok that doesn’t count, you know I think of pizza when I’m hungry. Ok, tell me something that you heard me say that I never said before.”

“Ok, you’re asking for it” I heard her say. “I just heard you!” I shouted. I heard you again. I know Ally said biting her lip trying not to laugh.

You have a secret Justin Trudeau shrine in your secret stash of pickles in your old tree house that you accidentally built when you thought that houses were not safe on the ground. I only vaguely heard what she said because I was still caught up on that she knew I heard her. “What do you mean you know that I heard you?”

I said starting to freak. Well, I kind of-“Wait how did you know about my shrine? And my Pickles? And my phobia!!!??”

Ally wiped the smile off her face and she grabbed my hand to try to come me down. “It’s ok, it’s ok” I heard her say. “What is going on!” I yelled.

She gave me a hug and I started to calm down. When I finally did calm down she let me go and signed Are you ok? I nodded, “yeah sorry, just a panic attack.”

She smiled at me It’s okay, I’ll explain. She then started to explain to me that ever since she was a young child, she has been always able to read other people’s thoughts. It was kind of a gift and a curse combined. She said that for some reason the closer she gets to someone the more her own thoughts start to be heard by other people. Like the passage from my thoughts to hers, for example, becomes a dual road. You really can only hear my thoughts when I think something urgently or something important right? I nodded. Well, it’s because of the, umm… let’s say filter that I use so you can’t hear my thoughts is momentarily forgotten because I’m panicking about something, so it’s normally the closest person that I am with, that for some reason are connected, they can hear me. It’s weird, I know.”  she sighed looking down.

I just smiled, though. “It’s not weird, it’s pretty cool.” Ally smiled Ok now that you know you got to keep it a secret.

“You can tell me in my head if you want,” I smiled “I enjoy hearing your voice.” She just smiled and looked down blushing. Then we heard a click. And then a creak of the door opening and we saw the red haired police officer talking into her phone

“Ok we are done talking with your fellow drunk friends, everything’s under control now, you are now free to leave.” And with that Ally and I got up and went out the door. I was already out the door before I realized Ally wasn’t directly behind me “Gerami!” I heard her say frightened, I turned around just with enough time to see the police officer holding Ally behind her and with a red painted fingernail pointing at what looked to be some kind of secret camera screen.

I was only able to think; They were watching us before a second policeman scooped me up and threw me into the backseat of his police car, and as we drove away all I could see the house door close and hear Ally’s panic begin.

Leave a Reply

