The Spectrum; Using a Tired Pigeon Analogy (ish)

Hey Everyone, Copper D.W. here,

I once read a funny quote which is anonymous (please correct me if I am wrong) and it is written below. It says “I am not an early bird or a night owl. I am some form of permanently exhausted Pigeon.” -Anonymous. I found this hilarious because on one hand, I think it is personally very funny, it’s very true and to be honest, I was really tired when I read it. (It’s like when you’re tired and you think everything is funny).

i-am-not-an-early-bird-or-a-night-owl-2823526

Either way, I’m posting this today because I wanted to give a special shout out to my fellow exhausted pigeons, because if you’re anything like me or even similar, you could go to bed at 4am and wake up at 6am, or go to bed a 9 and wake up at 1pm, and you’re just always, always Tired! Ah, the inevitable fatigue.

What I’m trying to get at is that I want people to know that it’s okay they don’t fit into the ‘Morning Person’ or ‘Night Owl’ category. Thinking in terms of categories, sometimes (actually quite often) people don’t fit into the two laid out categories that they are expected to follow. What people cease to understand is that there is never a clear black or white and that there is always that grey area in-between, because in reality everything, every decision that you make, every thought, choice and so forth is all on a spectrum.

You see in the society we live in we are expected to be either one way or another. I remember when I was little I would always get into arguments with my friends because they always assumed that because I didn’t necessarily agree with what they said it meant I was against them. “Are you against us, or with us?” I remember one of my childhood friends say, and this is when I learned that even though I agreed with both parties, I had to pick a side.

I personally think that, like I said everything is really a spectrum because you can agree with some elements of some argument, and disagree with others, and you aren’t really against or for what they’re advocating. We have created a society in which we cannot be as open minded as many advocate because if you can’t decide on what you agree or disagree with wholeheartedly you are being indecisive but if you do have strong opinions your pig-headed.

Still overall, I do realize that decisions need to be made, and in most cases it’s either yes or no for we have to live our lives, but the conception of against or for, being either a morning bird or a night owl, is not quite as evident as many political leaders would like you to believe.

The ideals of one person is not necessarily the ideal of your own, but you need to decide, and weigh what has more importance to you, and weigh the spectrum, for there is never a concrete yes or no, in reality, you can really only rely on the maybe.

And remember in the system we have today, the assumption of yes and no, you don’t have to shove yourself in a category if you feel you don’t fit in. Worse comes to worse create your own category, and just keep an open mind and be accepting. That’s all you can really ask for, and I’m positive that over time you will have some lovely tired pigeons that all understand each other!

Let the Tired Pigeons unite, and let the people understand that the spectrum is my own personal opinion, and you are free to believe in whatever you desire.

Awesome Sox,

Copper D.W.

4 thoughts on “The Spectrum; Using a Tired Pigeon Analogy (ish)

  1. You took a simple funny quote and made a thoughtful post out of it, so props to you. I agree that things are not merely black and white; the world is mostly a spectrum of greys. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to have a simple opinion about a topic, but couldn’t because I could acknowledge the valid points said by others with different points of view. Tired Pigeons unite! (Btw, I found your post because I was trying to find this quote!)

    • Yes Amanda! Tired Pigeons Unite!! And yes I totally agree with you, it is almost impossible to have a simple opinion, because nothing is as simple as it seems, because there is always a 360 degree angle to everything. I’m glad you enjoyed the post! (I too really like these funny quotes.)

      • Quotes are awesome. I’ve subscribed to your blog. Thanks for putting your thoughts out there for all of us to read.

      • No, thank You! I love writing, and it helps me destress. I used to just write these kinds of things for myself, but it’s people like you, that makes having a blog worth every second.

Leave a Reply

