Just Do What You Gotta Do

clipart-just-do-it-256x256-3516

Hey Everyone, Copper D.W. here!

Today is a very special day for me because it is my birthday and it I have my graduation ceremony today! As pumped as I already am, I have recognized that today is composed of not only celebration but of reflection and the one thing that comes to mind is Acceptance, so in reflection of my 4 years in my program and my birthday, that’s what I’ll be talking about in this post.

Acceptance. It’s such a human trait. Being such social creatures (i.e. humans) it is no wonder that others approval and the need and desire to be accepted is near the top on the priority list. I have read a lot of essays and documents on how everyone needs love in their life and how that is something that is always on everyone’s mind, but what people cease to talk about is acceptance.

I am from a very caring and compassionate family, and they have always supported me in whatever endeavours I choose to follow (it also helps that my family and I have the same calls of judgement and morals) but whenever they disagree with what I say, I’m immediately taken aback, questioning “Do I need to change or stop the way I’m thinking or doing to make them accept me more?” I suppose love could be tied into this, but furthermore, it is interesting to note that though I have always been taught to march and the beat of my own drums when it comes to family it becomes much more personal and dire to change your perspectives in order to make them happy.

Friends, having almost identical effects can also have you question what you’re doing with your life and your life choices. I have very few close friends because of this, and I am very selective due to this reason. Either way, acceptance is really what keeps us going in a social setting. You generally hang out with people who accept you (or at least accept the way you have been portraying yourself around them) vs friends that make you feel like poop. But it can be difficult with your family because in most cases it is very difficult to draw lines between them and your life choices.

My Advice: Just do what you gotta do.

I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter what decision you make someone will be unhappy. Whether it’s choosing a baby name, picking a sport, going into a job field, someone will always tell you why it won’t work, or say there are better options, (and it’s most likely involving money in some kind of way). My advice to you is that sometimes you need to do what’s right for you, even when it’s an inconvenience to everyone else, because at the end of the day it’s you, you have to live with, it’s your life, it’s your choices, and as my friends and family have heard me say “No Regrets.”

Of course, you need to weigh the choices you make appropriately, and not just go on a whim and of course whatever you do you will always have some kind of regret, but again you need to weigh the situation to make sure there is as little regret as an outcome as possible. Make an ‘educated guess’ as I like to say, but I admit that sometimes you need to make decisions that just ‘feel right’ no matter if you have any evidence or not. Judging by feeling and not emotion is key in this situation but nonetheless is essential, for like I said No regrets, and that is something a lot of people say when they don’t follow their hunches.

Be true to who you are, don’t let anyone compromise your opinions or values and most importantly ‘just do what you gotta do’, no regrets.

 

Yours truly,

Copper D.W.

 

Leave a Reply

